What will be left

“What will be left of us when we are gone? My father? Bits of faded newsprint amid sheaves of crumbling construction paper. Serrated-edged black-and-white photographs shot by Kodak Brownies. A boy of six, on his back porch, hugging his black dog, squinting into the great American Dust Bowl sun of 1939. A book of scraps. Brittle pages. It was left to me to reassemble him. I learned to make sense of the remnants, to find meaning in the missing pieces. A man of paper.

The more I touch it, the more it crumbles.”

After Visiting Friends by Michael Hainey

2 responses to “What will be left

  1. Hi! I couldn’t see a contact button, so I apologize if I’m posting this in the wrong place. I’ve just discovered your blog. I’m a young genealogist from Brisbane! :) My blog is genealogically-speaking.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

